Bless Me Father

Bless Me Father
6/10 by 1 users

Bless Me Father is a British sitcom starring Arthur Lowe, Daniel Abineri, Gabrielle Daye, Patrick McAlinney, David Ryall, Derek Francis and Sheila Keith. It was aired on ITV from 1978 until 1981 and described the adventures of an Irish Catholic priest, Father Charles Duddleswell and his young curate in the fictional parish of St. Jude's in suburban London. 21 episodes, written by Peter De Rosa, were aired. De Rosa wrote the books on which the series was based using the pseudonym of Neil Boyd which was also the name of the young curate character; Boyd also served as the narrator in the series of novels upon which the series was based. It was made for the ITV network by London Weekend Television. The series was set in 1950 and 1951 and marked a departure from the middle class 'bank manager' roles associated with Lowe such as that in Dad's Army. The other regular characters included Mrs Pring, the housekeeper, the hard-drinking Dr Daley, the non-religious neighbour Billy Buzzle, and abbess Reverend Mother Stephen.

Title Bless Me Father
Alternative Titles
First Air Date 1978-09-24
Last Air Date 1981-08-16
Number of Episodes 21
Number of Seasons 3
Genres Comedy,
Networks ITV,
Casts Arthur Lowe, Daniel Abineri, Patrick McAlinney
Arthur Lowe
Daniel Abineri
Patrick McAlinney
<Images posters
Images posters