Not The 9 O'Clock News

Not The 9 O'Clock News
8/10 by 3 users

Not the Nine O'Clock News is a television comedy sketch show which was broadcast on BBC2 from 1979 to 1982. Originally shown as a comedy alternative to the Nine O'Clock News on BBC1, it featured satirical sketches on current news stories and popular culture, as well as parody songs, comedy sketches, re-edited videos, and spoof television formats. The show featured Rowan Atkinson, Pamela Stephenson, Mel Smith, and Griff Rhys Jones, as well as Chris Langham in the first series. The format was a deliberate departure from the Monty Python's Flying Circus stream-of-consciousness meta-comedy, returning to a more conventional sketch show format. Sketches were mostly self-contained, lasting from a few seconds to a few minutes and often had a degree of naturalism in performance. The series launched the careers of several high-profile actors and writers, and also led to other comedy series including Blackadder, Mr. Bean, and Alas Smith and Jones.

Title Not The 9 O'Clock News
Alternative Titles
First Air Date 1979-10-16
Last Air Date 1982-03-08
Number of Episodes 28
Number of Seasons 4
Genres Comedy,
Networks BBC Two,
Casts Rowan Atkinson, Mel Smith, Pamela Stephenson, Griff Rhys Jones, Chris Langham
Rowan Atkinson
Mel Smith
Pamela Stephenson
Griff Rhys Jones
Chris Langham
<Images posters
<Images posters
Images posters
Images posters